RSS
Aside
22 Mar

 Past Perfect tense

Used to declare an act or event that has been done in the past.

Verbal sentence:

(+) S + Had + V III

(-) S + Had + Not + V III

(?) Had + S + V III?

Example:

  1. (+) We had studied English when our friend came here

         (-) We hadn’t studied English when our friend came here

         (?) Had we studied English when our friend came here?

                        Yes, we had/No, we hadn’

   2.  (+) They had gone before I arrived

        (-) They hadn’t gone before I arrived

       (?) Had they gone before I arrived?

                        Yes, they had/No, they hadn’t

  3.  (+) Teacher had written the lesson the students copied it

       (-) Teacher hadn’t written the lesson the student copied it

      (?) Had teacher written the lesson the student copied it?

                        Yes, she had/No, she hadn’t

   4. (+) He had come after I go to school

       (-) He hadn’t come after I go to school

       (?) Had he come after I go to school?

                        Yes, he had/No, he hadn’t

  5. (+) She had come after I go to movie

      (-) She hadn’t come after go to movie

     (?) Had she had come after go to movie?

                        Yes, she had/No,she hadn’t

  Nominal sentence:

(+) S + Have/Has + been + 3C (N, ADJ, ADV)

(-) S + Have/Has + Not + 3C (N, ADJ, ADV)

(?) Have/Has + S + 3C (N, ADJ, ADV)

Examples:

  1. (+) I have been tired

         (-) I haven’t been tired

        (?) Have you been tired?

             Yes, I have / No, I haven’t

   2. (+) They had been at home when I come.

       (-) They hadn’t been at home when I come.

      (?) Had they been at home when I come?.

           Yes, they had. / No, they hadn’t.

  3. (+) Lia had been at Malaysia last week.

      (-) Lia hadn’t been at Malaysia last week.

      (?) Had Lia been at Malaysia last week?

          Yes, she had. / No, she hadn’t.

 4. (+) You had been here in Paris last year.

     (-) You hadn’t been here in Paris last year.

     (?) Had you been here in Paris last year?

          Yes, I had. / No, I hadn’t.

  5.(+) Mother had been expense in the market.

     (-) Mother hadn’t been expense in the market.

     (?) Had mother been expense in the market?

          Yes, she had. / No, she hadn’t.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
